Thanks Bruno Mars.

I have 3 beautiful girls. An eight year old who is smart, a six-year-old who is confident, and a four-year old who is funny. All my kids seem to have a pretty high self-esteem, I try to speak life into them by pointing out their strong suits. This is something that I’ve tried to do, with moderate success, their entire lives. I want them to grow up to be strong, confident, break a boy’s arm and not feel bad about it when he’s trying to take advantage of them, world changers. It’s my duty at a father to help shape them into that. However, I’m not always good at seizing the moment. Kellie is though. She told me the other day that Bruno Mars song, Just the Way You Are came on the radio and she sang it to our kids. I thought it was brilliant. So I stole her idea, and just at bedtime tonight, I turned the speakers all the way up and blared that same song. I ran into their rooms and started lip syncing it, complete with a pen as my microphone.

I sang, the chorus individually to each of my girls:

When I see your face
There’s not a thing that I would change
Cause you’re amazing
Just the way you are
And when you smile,
The whole world stops and stares for a while
Cause girl you’re amazing
Just the way you are

I wasn’t totally prepared for what I encountered. Each one locked eyes with me, and I got closer and closer to them, telling them they are amazing, huge smiles were plastered across their faces, and tears where welling up in their eyes. Indeed even an eight, a six and a four-year old needs to be told that they are amazing. Their leaking eyes, made a daddy proud…and possibly filled my eyes too. Tonight I won.

By the way, here’s the song:

  1. thanks bro, you’ve inspired me to do the same tonight. my 9 yr old doesn’t hear it enough.

    • Sam Andrews
    • August 22nd, 2011

    Aww that is so sweet. While reading this it brought me to tears. You’re such an awesome father & it’s so great to read about how involved you are with them. They are definitely three very lucky girls!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

