Twittfacefourbookersquare

The New Oxford American Dictionary defines the following words:

Social: needing companionship and therefore best suited to living in communities.
Media: the main means of mass communication.

In essence Social Media is: A community to spread news.

Here are a few of my favorite ways to stay connected to a community and to spread news.

Twitter: I’m @bigdart. I like Twitter, because everything has to be said in under 140 characters. Get on, follow me & I’ll follow you. We’ll connect.

Facebook: I’m not on Facebook nearly as much as the next guy. My Facebook updates are automatically updated via twitter. I do however like to stalk my friends whom I don’t get to see everyday. It makes me feel more connected. Plus I get to look at pictures of other people’s vacations. It lets me live vicariously through them.

Foursquare: I’m a newbie on Foursquare. Foursquare let’s you “check-in” at certain locations. It’s pretty neat. There are awards for checking in and if you happen to check in the most at a location, you can become the mayor, which carries its own set of awards.

As long as we desire community, and there is a way to relay information, there will always be social media. So get on, or get run over. I am, in no way considered an expert on this subject, if you’d really like to know what Social media is all about, you’ve got to check out THIS GUY, he is an expert.

    • Jason
    • August 29th, 2010

    Thanks man! You do a great job of making use of social media.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

