Church.

The church pisses me off. Let me back up…. I love the church. I do, I genuinely love the church. It’s what I’m called to, it’s what I’m giving my life to. In fact I’ve got a tattoo of an abacus on my forearm that reads 442024. 44th book of the Bible, 20th chapter, 24th verse. Acts 20:24. Look it up. I love the church. It just ticks me off sometimes.

Let me explain.  Years ago, someone once asked me what my biggest fear was. I unequivocally responded, “I’m afraid of success.”  Most people are afraid of failure, not me, I’m pretty good at failure. I’m afraid of success. I’m afraid that if I “make it,” it’ll go straight to my head. I’m a pretty selfish cat. I’m afraid that I’ll take what God meant for Himself, and turn that glory to myself. It’s not false humility, it’s pure selfishness. My fear and self loathing pisses me off. Through Christ I’m better than that. I truly want His name to be made great and my name to be …not made great.

That brings us to the church and my distaste.  I’m afraid that the logo has replaced the cross. That the brilliance of Jesus has been dulled to the marketing piece that just went out about the new series, “How to have Great Christian Sex with your wife who is super Hot.”  It’s not just a mega church issue. Small churches can fall prey too. “My church is better than yours,” one bumper sticker reads. “Hate Church, Love God?” another billboard reads, all pointing you to THE church of choice, mine or yours. The church has put so much focus on MY CHURCH. I’ve been to two different churches that have done the series, “I Love MY Church.”  And that’s great, as long as you don’t love your church more than you love Jesus. I’m afraid we’ve become very selfish.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m as much a part of the problem as I am a part of the answer. I place the blame clearly on my chest, and I repent.

The beauty of it all is said in Matthew 16. Jesus said, he’s going to build his church, and hell itself cannot stop it. That means, I can’t stop it, you can’t stop it, and the devil himself can’t stop it.  There is no logo, off target sermon series, billboard or bumper sticker that’s going to derail the Gospel of Jesus.

I feel better.

  1. i agree. very well written!!

    • Big D’Art
    • August 19th, 2010

    Thanks sweetheart.

    • Alex Cox
    • August 22nd, 2010

    This is well put D’Art, and a good summation of some of what I think about modern Christian life. I see bumper stickers on cars almost like a point of pride of attendance at one church over another, and the end message gets lost in the marketing. I’m not a big fan of marketing in general, but when applied to religion, it’s tragic. A few believers gathering in a house isn’t so bad an idea sometimes.
    Keep it up.

    • Big D’Art
    • September 5th, 2010

    Thanks Alex.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

