Nuts-o!

I spend an inordinate amount of time pretending to have conversations with God. Usually we’re talking about nonsense stuff like how I’m the best driver in town, and how he’s going to take care of the bad driver when they get home.  Or how He’s going to do all kinds of awesome Old Testament stuff to my enemies. It’s pretty incredible.  But every once in a while, I really feel like the real God interrupts our conversation, because He actually wants to tell me something.  A couple of weeks ago on my way home from work, was one of those times.

We were bantering like usual when I asked a question and He responded, this was our conversation:

me: “God, if it was really you who has given me this dream to plant a church in Boston, why am I at a dead-end, aren’t you God and can’t you just make it easier?”
GOD: ” Yeah, but what fun would that be?”
me: “God, I’ve had about as much “fun” as I can take.”
GOD: “I’ve got it, don’t worry about it.”
me: “You’ve got it? I feel like you’re leading me on.”
GOD: “You have no idea, just trust me.”
me: “OK, so you’re God, I’m not, but when does my dream about Boston materialize?”
GOD: “Boston is not your dream, It’s MY dream.”
me: “What?”
GOD: “My dream is better than your dream. And to prove it, I’m going to kill your dream, and replace it with mine.”
me: “I’m way confused.”

Over the next couple of days, this conversation played over and over in my head. He’s going to kill my dream? What does that mean? It can’t be good. But I slowly settled into the acceptance that God has everything under control and He wants me to walk in more faith not just pretend like I do.

Along comes tonight. I head to Elevation Church to hear Pastor Steven Furtick record a sermon entitled Sun Stand Still. Right before he preached his sermon, he looked over at me and called me up on stage, which was surprising for sure, but I went. Then he did something, I haven’t seen him do in the 2 years I’ve been attending, he handed me the mic and asked me to talk for 3 minutes about planting a church in Boston.

WHAT?!?!  For real? In front of 800 or more people?!?! God, are you serious? Is this YOUR dream? Rad.

Now don’t get me wrong, God’s dream isn’t for me to be recognized, but it was a beautiful reminder that He hasn’t forgotten me. Plus it was a pretty neat way to show me that His dream is indeed way better than my own.

  1. Way cool man. What an awesome opportunity to share HIS story…Thanks for sharing, Press On.

    Living the Pursuit – George

  2. Rock on! That’s simply a fantastic story sir!

    • Chanelle
    • June 18th, 2010

    That gave me chills! Amazing story! And press on, You’re doing a great work!!

    • allen rogers
    • June 18th, 2010

    God’s kind of neat that way. prayin for you guys.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

