Ticked Off

I’m pretty ticked off.  I learned today that a pastor in GA cheated on his wife with his personal assistant.  That ticks me off.  This arrogant punk didn’t respect his position.  He didn’t listen to his own sermons.  I’m angry.  Well at least I was when I heard the news.  In fact when I heard this news, I kept telling myself, “I knew it, I knew it.”  I’d never even met this pastor, but I’ve followed him and have heard him speak a time or two, and in my own world, things didn’t match up.

After my initial anger faded, I started thinking about guys in the Bible, good, righteous, holy guys.  Guys that walked on water, and killed giants.  Guys that effectively changed the world.  And you know what, those guys screwed up too. Bad.  And I kept going through the Bible comparing this pastors story to others, and they are all the same.  Screwed up people, with the only hope being Jesus.

Then I looked at my life.  I’ve never cheated on my wife, and by the grace of God I never will, and I’ve never killed anyone, but my pride and greed are just as ugly in eyes of Jesus.  How dare I judge.  I repent.

    • Clint W
    • July 2nd, 2009

    D’art…sometimes the sin actually makes a person a BETTER minister. I know, had I not made some of the mistakes I’ve made, I wouldn’t be able to reach anyone. Paul and Peter were both better people AFTER receiving forgiveness. Great post, and wonderful truth about each of our lives.

  1. We are all vulnerable bro. You put me in the wrong place, at the wrong time, after having the wrong day with my wife, with the wrong guidance, and with the wrong woman; THE WRONG THING WILL HAPPEN. My goal is not to be faithful to Beth….thats a bad goal. My goad is to never be in a position where not being faithful is an option. Reality, is that none of us know if we’d react like Joseph or David if given the opportunity. I’d rather just not know. U feel me?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

