School Lunch

When I say School Lunch most people over the age of 11 cringe.  School Lunch is typically served by the meanest looking Manwoman around.  She’s got a mustache that rivals the likes of Magnum P.I. and barks out orders while handing out 3mm thick rubber pizza.  The truth is that none of us would volunteer to hang out in the school cafeteria, much less eat a meal.  

My daughter is about 4 weeks into Kindergarten.  For the first couple of weeks, Kellie packed her lunch every day.  For the past couple of weeks, she has been asking to eat in Cafeteria.  So we let her buy her lunch once a week.  She gets to look over the menu and decide which day is the special day that she gets to eat school lunch.  She is so stoked that she gets to experience something different, she gets excited about Chocolate Milk.  

So what’s different?  Perspective. Too often we pass off ideas or opportunities because they don’t appeal to us, they don’t appear appetizing.  Maybe all we need is a change in perspective.  Maybe we just need some Chocolate Milk.

    • allen rogers
    • October 2nd, 2008

    hhmmm. perspective. shaun groves has a song in which he sings “i want to see from your side of the sky” it’d definately change the way we treat and respond to a lot of people in our lives.

  1. Perspective is everything. We have a strong tendency to look at everything around us in relation to ourselves. That’s easiest. I’m guilty of it. It’s my experience, though, that the best times in my life have come when I’m able to get outside my own head and see things from a different angle. Nice piece D’Art

    Unrelated: I love cafeteria square-pizza. Especially the kind with the little mini cubes of “pepperoni.” I doubt there’s really much “pepper” and certainly no “oni” in those things…but they’re delicious just the same.

    • Glen
    • November 13th, 2008

    Hahaha…my grandmother convinced me and my brother that cod liver oil was yummy, and we’d ask her for it when we visited (which was about every day).

    I still actually like the stuff, but it’s not worth the money to me.

    Perspective…or propaganda?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

