Late Night @ Waffle House

Last night I met a good friend at Waffle House. Waffle House seems to get better the later it gets, so my friend and I met up at around 11:30 last night. We didn’t leave until almost 1:00. My friend, we’ll call him GB, mainly because that’s what I call him, is more than a friend to me, he’s more of a mentor, a spiritual father of sorts. GB has pastored a couple of different churches and served in many capacities over the years. I’ve never asked GB how old he is, it doesn’t really matter, but if I were to guess, I’d say late 60’s. That’s right, seasoned and still loving some late night Waffle House.

We chat, he tells me what’s going on and I get to share my thoughts with him. Without the fear of rejection or the fear of looking foolish, I shoot my questions off. It’s wisdom I’m seeking the most, and I’ve come to the right place, GB is one of the wisest men I’ve ever met. It’s my privilege to get to hang out with him and pick his brain. I can come to him with any question, because I know he believes in me. You know how I know? He doesn’t just tell me, he shows me. I have never been out with GB and had to pay for a meal. He won’t let me pay, I’ve tried. He just says, “D’Art I’m investing in your ministry.”

Last night as I was leaving, I made the statement, “I’m going to do this, either I’m going to make it, or I’m going to fall flat on my face.” To that GB retorted, “Either you’re going to make it, or God’s a liar. And we both know God’s not a liar.”

Thanks GB for your investment, and for believing in me.

    • GBfanclub
    • July 13th, 2008

    Good ol’ GB. I gotta get up that way myself and partake of Waffle house communion with the good reverend. Good thoughts about doing it or falling flat on your face. I would rather die saying I tried it and I failed miserably then die thinking if I would have just tried it maybe it would have worked.

  1. Old Chinese proverb say: Better to pick one’s brain than to pick one’s nose.

  2. Big D,
    You can never go wrong with wisdom and the waffle house…yeah…come on!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

