Geocaching & Forrest Gump

I did it. Number 7 on this years to do list (Here.) Geocaching is what I’m talking about. The family and I went out and hit the GPS super highway to see what we could find. After traipsing through the woods behind a big box store, driving down a dead end pier, searching a little league field, crawling under picnic tables, and finding the coolest tree I have ever seen, I can say we are addicted. And it was only day one. We hit 5 sites today, and found them all. Yeah us. We will find more in the coming days. Geocaching is just too fun, if you haven’t tried it, you should. It’s great, take it from me, I’m a 1 day pro!

The tree that I was talking about. It was amazing. It looked like a huge spider web. Branches bolting out of everywhere, libs sprouting out to touch the sky and scrape the ground. And to make things better, the tree that I speak of was the tree that Forrest Gump and Jenny played at as kids. You remember the one? They later went back and shared a moment on that same tree. AWESOME!

All in all, it was a great day.

  1. so, what did you find?

    • Big D’Art
    • March 1st, 2008

    The “find” in Geocaching is finding the cache itself. Their coordinates point you to the place, it’s your duty to find the actual cache. It could be a film canister, a tupperware container, an ammo box, or any other waterproof box that can be hidden well. Once you find it, inside will be a log book to report that you were there, a trinket of sorts that you can take if you leave another trinket. Pretty cool. Today we got a toy elephant, a Piggly Wiggly ring, and a marble. We left a variety of trinkets.

  2. Great blog! I caught your post on geocaching. Welcome to the addiction! Our experience was much the same as yours. Do it once and you are hooked. My wife and I have been geocaching for about eight months now, and are having a blast. Now, two of my sons are taking the grandkids geocaching. It’s a great family activity.

    I see that you are also into BFL. I did that last January, with great results. But sadly, I’ve been away from it for a while. Gotta get back to it.

    Stop by our blog and say hello. It’s alway fun to meet other geocachers.

    The Northwoods Geocats

    • Jenny
    • June 1st, 2008

    I have been looking for this tree. Is there anyway you can tell me where it is located?
    ghstcat1821@yahoo.com
    PLEASE!!!!!!!!!

    • Kris Sackrider
    • February 14th, 2009

    Please help me out and let me know where this tree from the film “Forrest Gump” can be found? I’ve been looking all over for it and nobody seems to know where to find it. Please, whatever you can tell me..

    • Kris Sackrider
    • February 14th, 2009

    my email is “sackattack87@hotmail.com” please Big D’Art, help.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

