Are your feet?

Kellie, the girls and I went for a walk today on the beach. We had fun chasing the waves, feeling the cold water, playing tag, and watching the kite surfers. After playing for a little while we discovered that we were a good ways from where we parked our car, so we decided that it was time to get back. On the way back Dahson and I were kicking sand and carrying on a conversation, you know the 5 year old and Dad kind of conversation. She looked at my feet and said, “Daddy you have big feet.” I agreed, I mean even a 5 year old knows that size 14 are considered boats in most third world countries. We walked on a bit more, then out of the blue she said, “Daddy, are your as big as Jesus’ feet?” I asked her what she meant, waiting for that 5 year old innocence to come out. “I don’t know,” she said. “I was just wondering.” Then off to the next subject.

The truth is that I haven’t thought of Jesus’ feet in a long time. But because of Dahsons’ innocence, today I did. My mind took me to that old cheesy poem, Footprints. And today it gave my soul rest. Here is how it goes:

One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was
walking along the beach with the Lord. Across the
sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene, he
noticed two sets of footprints in the sand: one
belonging to him, and the other to the Lord. When
the last scene of his life flashed before him, he
looked back at the footprints in the sand. He
noticed that many times along the path of his life
there was only one set of footprints. He also noticed
that it happened at the very lowest and saddest
times in his life. This really bothered him and he
questioned the Lord about it. “Lord, You said that
once I decided to follow you, You’d walk with me all
the way. But I have noticed that during the most
troublesome times in my life, there is only one set
of footprints. I don’t understand why when I needed
you most you would leave me.” The Lord replied,
“My son, My precious child, I love you and I would
never leave you. During your times of trial and
suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it
was then that I Carried You.”
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

