Observations about Bostonians

Here are a few things I’ve noticed since being in Boston.  I’m sure they aren’t all true, but who knows….they are just my observations:

1. There are a lot of pretty people here. 
2. College students are everywhere.
3. If you are old, you are white, and look wealthy.
4. Everybody seems to walk faster than me.
5. Bostonians love their iPods, everyone is listening to something
6. I have never seen so many people read the newspaper
7. The subway has some pretty interesting adds.  I learned today that you can get  $1,100 for donating sperm!

Those are my totally ignorant observations of Boston, after all I’ve been here for 24 hours, so I must know something right?!?! 

OK, I’m off to see more of the city.  I’ll post again tonight.  It’s supposed to snow tomorrow, so that would be cool, after all…Some snow would be nice.

  1. Well, if you don’t get a job at Starbucks, at least you can make 1100 bucks.

    • kellie
    • January 23rd, 2008

    well, now we know how we can make some cash!! =)

    yes, some snow would be nice…

    • Bill
    • January 25th, 2008

    Boston is not close to California:( However, I would go to your church if I lived in Boston.

    • glen
    • January 26th, 2008

    8. There is a Dunkin Donuts on every corner. Sometimes two or three on the same corner.
    9. Boston drivers are aggressive and hateful. It’s not because they want to get somewhere fast and you are in the way. In fact, they don’t care about going anywhere. It’s really because they’re aggressive and hateful.
    10. It is possible to get around in Boston without getting lost, but not using such crude tools as maps, compass, common sense, or GPS. Instead, it requires at least two of the following: keen sense of smell, voodoo, sorcery, a sextant, a fortune cookie, or an aggressive and hateful disposition. (Once I took a wrong turn, so to get back I figured I’d just go around the block. After taking 3 more turns, I had spent $10.50 in tolls and was in New Hampshire.)
    11. The “T” is the only thing in the entire city that operates as intended. So the key to happiness is to live your entire life underground.
    12. If you get arrested or mugged or otherwise treated unfairly, hold up your hands and say “How ’bout them Pats?” The mistreatment will instantly end and you will be invited to spend the night and marry your abuser’s first-born daughter. (You may also receive $1100.)
    13. The “Big Dig” is an engineering marvel that makes driving even more frustrating. (This is a good thing, because it helps Bostonians navigate by making them more evil.) Interesting fact: the Big Dig was paid for with Federal funds, and each American taxpayer paid over $300 for it.

    Oh, and Kellie mentioned that you may start a church up there. That’s awesome….but you should know that most of us New Englanders don’t understand that there are alternatives to Catholicism.

    (And you should know that snow isn’t really that cool, and it gets really cold for a really long time every year in Boston. I hate to be discouraging, but there’s a reason I emigrated to Georgia!)

    • Big D\’Art
    • January 26th, 2008

    Glen, your words weren’t discouraging, I laughed at your observations as well. I didn’t get to experience driving in the city, but I did hear a lot of honking and see a lot of fingers while walking around. Why are there Dunkin Donuts everywhere, I too noticed that. Good stuff. As far as the church goes, Boston needs Jesus, and I want to be a part of that, so pray for us.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

