“Is that superglue in your mouth?!?!”

Unexpected child actions, take one.  My middle child Kadison, ran up to me with her fingers stuck together and drooling crying about something I couldn’t understand.  “It’s Stuck” she said.  My thought process went something like this:

What is she talking about?  Why are her fingers…?  What did she get into? Is she going to drool on the carpet? Is that superglue in your mouth? Are they going to arrest me?  Where did she find superglue?  Are you kidding me?  Your mother isn’t home, that means I’m going to have to haul all three of you to the ER tonight by myself, and ahh, I don’t want to do that, I just want to play some Maden, that’s what I’ve been looking forward too after your bed time!  How does superglue taste? What do I do? Warm water, toothbrush.  NOW!

After a few minutes of brushing, removing the superglue from her lips, and washing her hands, I calmed down a bit.   She stopped crying, so I pulled the lasagna out of the oven, and searched the internet for what to do when one gets superglue in their mouth.  Surely my child wasn’t the first.  Actually I found an answer on the official superglue website.

Lips
If lips are accidentally stuck together, apply a generous amount of warm water and encourage maximum wetting and pressure from saliva from inside the mouth. Peel or roll (do not pull) lips apart. It is almost impossible to swallow the adhesive as a liquid. The adhesive solidifies upon contact with saliva (moisture) and could adhere to the inside of the mouth. Saliva will lift the adhesive in 1-2 days, avoid swallowing the adhesive after detachment.

Upon further investiagion, margarine will also help to remove superglue from the mouth.  And that has been my adventure in unexpected child actions.

    • Lyn
    • November 13th, 2007

    So, I just finished reporting the incidence to Defax for you…..so you don;t have too….

    Anyway, I gotta go….Isabella just fed Sadie some Mr. Clean….

    Gotta Go,

    Lyn

  1. haha. That’s a good story!

    • Liz
    • February 16th, 2008

    wow… so i woke up today and my puppie had super glue all over her mouth. im happy i looked this up online and found out what to do. thank you for telling your story.

    • Jennifer
    • June 25th, 2009

    thanks so much for the info My three year old son just got in to the superglue no Idea where he got it from and it was all over his teeth and tung and lips. I think that i have goten most of it off from brushing and messing with it. He just has a sore tung now and probley wont be able to tast anytng much for a wile. Finding your post and looking at the superglue web sight makes me feel a tone better. I swear you cant turn your back for a second.

    • aadrienne
    • March 1st, 2010

    thanks a ton!! my 2 year old just got super glue all over her mouth and when asking my husband for help all i got was ” dont look at me…i dont know what to do” you saved me from having a total panic attack!!

    • saly
    • November 11th, 2011

    my son is 30months and taken superglue but i dont know wheather he has swollen it or not i saw the glue almost finished i was so mad at him i just ignored him told him to spit it out. i dont know what will happen its been an hour since the incident hes gone out with daddy 😦 i feel guilty

    • saly
    • November 11th, 2011

    thanks so much i found this from the site which made me feel better { It is almost impossible to swallow the adhesive as a liquid. The adhesive solidifies upon contact with saliva (moisture) and could adhere to the inside of the mouth. Saliva will lift the adhesive in 1-2 days, avoid swallowing the adhesive after detachment}.

    • booklover
    • November 18th, 2011

    my daughter got it on her teeth will it effect her should i go straight to hospital?

    im panicking here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

