Thinking out LOUD

The other day I got a DVD in the mail with my name on it. It wasn’t Transformers or any other blockbuster hit, it was a DVD promoting what seems to be the best Summer Camp out there for High School Students, Bigstuf. Now, I’ve known about Bigstuf for a couple of years now, and I hope to take some students this year, what I didn’t expect was to be rocked by the sample message that was on there, a simple message by Andy Stanley. Once again, I’ve listened a lot to Andy and enjoy what he brings. In fact at Catalyst this year he posed a question that my hyperactive brain still remembers: What do you do when it dawns on you, that you are the most important person in the room? And the answer was simple, leverage your influence for others, not yourself. Great stuff. But what I heard on this DVD just the other day, I haven’t been able to get out of my mind. Here was the thought:

Direction, not intention, determines destination.

A lot of us have intentions of doing great things. I intend to do this, or to do that, and hope that one day I’ll get to where God wants me to be, my destination. But if you aren’t headed in that direction, you won’t ever get there, no matter how good your intentions were. It Rocked me. And I still can’t get it out of my head.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

