The Lone D’Art

My wife and kids have been away for a few days to the good land of Tennessee.  So I’ve had the new house to myself, the bed to myself, the computer to myself, the washer and dryer to myself, the TV to myself, and the car to myself.  With all these things to myself, I’ve done a lot of sitting at home and vegging out.  It’s been nice to slow down for a couple of days.

This summer has been pretty busy.  Camp, Mission Trip, Move, Student Center Redesign, Youth Leadership restructure, and all the daily stuff.  Even with the slow down, I still find myself running on empty.  And I’ve come to the conclusion of why I’m running on empty: Not doing what I’m most passionate about. Don’t get me wrong, I love camp, San Francisco was amazing, our new house is a gift from God, our Student Center desperately needed a makeover, as did the Leadership structure, and you’ve got to do the daily stuff whether or not you like it.  But only once this summer have I been able to communicate the truth of God’s Word.  That’s what I’m most passionate about.  That’s what gives me fuel.  That’s what gets my heart pumping.  That’s what I feel that I’ve been crafted to do.  Communicate the truth of God’s Word.   I only have a couple of more weeks until I hop back into the saddle.

How about you?  What makes you feel alive?  What gets the ole heart beating?
What were you wired to do?  If you haven’t found it, keep looking.  If you have found it, persue it, run after it, and be the best you can be.

    • Pat
    • August 8th, 2007

    Great blog!!! Your know I am there!!! I know what it is, but where is it!!! I am out of fuel… Thanks for the encouragement!!!

    • Danny R.
    • August 11th, 2007

    I like punching people. That’s what gets my heart pumping.

    Wait, can I say that?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

