Pixie Sticks and Ice Cream Sandwiches

This past week I spent the majority of my time watching middle school students indulge themselves with pixie sticks and ice cream sandwiches.  I also watched as they engaged in worship and as they enjoyed a taste of freedom, being away from mom and dad for a couple of days.  I had a student in my room that didn’t come from my church, and obviously came from a bad situation.  I watched him cringe as the week of camp came to an end.  I watched what will one day be life change.  I watched students get involved who would never think of getting involved anywhere else, except for camp.  I watched God.  I talked to him.  I communed.   As tired as I am, I think that I got out of camp as much or more than the students did.  I felt God and I saw him work quietly throughout the camp all week.  I love youth camp.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

