Lust. Lust. Pride.

For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. – 1 John 2:16

This verse has been haunting me. Creeping up on me in the night. Challenging me to see life through less dirty lenses. I’m the perfect example of this verse, however, I hate it. Good thing God doesn’t call those who are qualified but qualifies those He calls.  I believe with all that is within me that God has called me. Called me to be a part of His incredible story. Called me to Boston. So if He has called me, then He’s in the process of qualifying me. He’s still working on me. To make me what I ought to be. I’m fighting against these 3 deadly sins. I encounter these every day. Here’s how I see it and what I plan on doing about it.

Lust of the Flesh: I’m a big guy. I haven’t always been this big, in fact one time I played college Volleyball. But since getting married I have gained over 100 lbs. What?!? How? I got lazy. Not lay on the couch and get bed sores lazy, but go out to eat a lot. A lot. No running or working out, no self control kind of lazy.

I’ve just finished a 21 day Daniel Fast, not for weight loss, but for self-control for denial of my flesh. This was difficult. I was hungry a lot. But I prayed a bunch. Prayed for my family, prayed for Boston, prayed that God would be exalted in my life. I did it. As a side note, I lost 25 lbs. Take that flesh. I punched you right in the gut.

Lust of the Eyes: By nature, I don’t have an addictive personality. But I’m addicted. Addicted to Social-Media. More specifically, Twitter. Twitter demands more of my time than I want to give it. For some reason, I’ve got to always be looking at my phone in hopes that something interesting hits my eyes. Sorry twitter, I don’t mean to throw you under the bus, but we’ve got to break up. It’s not you, it’s me.

I’m going on a 21 day Social-Media fast starting September 1st. No Facebook, Twitter, Foursquare, etc. Basically, for 21 days my phone will cease to be a smart phone, and will only be used to make phone calls and text. If you need me, text me.

Pride of Life: The biggest lesson I’ve learned the past 3 years is that I am proud. Arrogant. Conceited. I never saw it. But then again pride keeps you from seeing who you are. Working retail to provide for your family has a way of fixing proud, arrogant, conceited people. Circumstances has a way of changing the way you think. Grace beats pride. Mercy beats arrogance. Love beats conceit.

I’m not sure of a 21 day stab at the Pride of life. For me this has been a 3 year lesson that I’m still learning.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with eating, Twitter, or taking pride in yourself, but sometimes one has to cut back, re-prioritize things. Just know, in the end, I’m still just as screwed up as you are. I pray that through little movements, little adjustments, that I fall more and more in love with Jesus and less and less in love with myself.

  1. Powerful verse.. Which is why it kills me when I see those bumper stickers that say; “The Power of Pride”. When I see things like that, it reminds me of how weak people can be.

    “Good thing God doesn’t call those who are qualified but qualifies those He calls.”. That’s a really nice quote D’art. Many times one speaks with a Christian, or Muslim, or Jew, and finds that they feel “automatically” qualified to be in the Most High’s graces. You however, wear your humility on your shoulder. And it gives you power. There is a Taoist quote that says; “All the rivers of the world flow down into the sea. It is its humility that gives it power.”

    The only question I have for you is between the lust of the flesh, and lust of the eyes. Are they not the same thing? Or are you categorizing lust of the flesh with how one feels about themselves?

    The social fast sounds monumental. We are all “jacked in” so to speak. Getting away from it is tough, especially in our line of work. I know this post is from like last month, but I hope that went well. I wonder if there are any outwardly noticeable withdrawal signs?! There should be a study on that. I may have to try it as well. I’m diggin the blog man!

    frase

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

